Contact Us

200 East Walnut Street
Washington, IN 47501
Get Directions

  • Phone: 
    (812) 254-1091
  • Staff Directory

In This Category

Category HomeCategory Home


The Daviess County Solid Waste District, manages the Daviess County Landfill, located at 1640 N 650 E in Montgomery.

Landfill procedure and Recycling Facility information is as follows:

Operating hours @ the Landfill are:
Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday: 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Telephone: 812-486 -3774
Fax: 812-486-2787
Mailing Address:
P.O. BOX 312
Montgomery, Indiana 47558

Solid Waste District Staff
Raymond L Spaulding
District Director
Gena K Dant
Administrative Assistant
Diana L Smith
Landfill Scalehouse Operator
Robert J Ochs
Landfill Mechanic/Heavy Equip. Operator
Tobin S Fitch
Landfill Heavy Equipment Operator
Robert C Cornelius
District Controller
We accept Daviess County generated waste only. Anyone bringing in out of county trash is subject to fine as stated in Ordinance 3-88.

All wastes, trash and demolition debris, have the same tipping fee, which is $20.60 per ton. All patrons wishing to dispose of waste will weigh in and out on a State certified scale. The minimum to cross the scale is $6.84.

Anyone bringing in a refrigerated unit, working or not (air conditioner, refrigerator, freezer, etc.) must provide an Intact Certificate stating that the Freon and compressor have been properly removed from the unit. The Freon Intact Certificate is included for your convenience or can be obtained from the business that provided the service for you. This form will list the unit(s) in question by name and serial #, and is to be signed by a certified dealer along with their certification number.

All incinerated waste must be completely extinguished before disposal.

Items the landfill WILL NOT accept by Law include:
  • Yard Waste (This includes grass clippings, shrubs, trees)
  • Free Liquids (Such as paint, oil, pesticides, etc.)
  • Car and Truck Batteries
  • Car and Truck Bodies
  • Dead Animals
There are still seven (7) containers available for the public to place recyclables. Please note as follows.

There are three (3) containers for recycling plastic:
Container #1
Plastic beverage bottles (1)
Container #2
Plastic milk jugs (2)
Container #3
Plastic detergent jugs (2)
Please rinse containers well. Caps and lids are a different grade of plastic and should be removed and discarded before recycling. We cannot accept oil, paint, anti-freeze, weed killer, pest control or other chemical plastics in any of the recycling containers.
Other containers:
Container #4
Aluminum cans only.
Please no aluminum foil, pans, or siding.
Container #5
Steel food cans only.
Please rinse well. Labels may be left alone. We cannot accept paint, varnish,
aerosol, or chemical cans.
Container #6 Newspapers only.
Papers should be loose, not bundled. No books, magazines, office paper, junk
mail, grocery or plastic bags.
Container #7 Cardboard.
Flatten boxes if possible. Paper bags and cereal boxes are acceptable.
Remove all plastic and metal from cardboard before recycling.

We do have a " Waste Tire Container". The law prohibits waste tires from entering the landfill, so for convenience, a container is available for the residents (businesses excluded) of Daviess County.

We will accept tires as follows:

Light truck and car tires 16 inch and under ONLY ...NO RIMS...$2.75 per tire.
Any tires with rims will be charged double.

We also recycle paperback books, text books, and magazines. They should be clean and dry, preferably boxed, and delivered inside the Scalehouse.

We still have a " Trash Bag" disposal system in place. Tags may be purchased @ the Scalehouse at $1.25 a tag and be placed on the bag at time of disposal. Tags may not be purchased in advance.

If there are any questions please call during regular business hours at (812) 486-3774.