Contact Us

Chris J. Winkler,
Highway Dept. Supervisor

Highway Department (more)
5247 E 100 N
Montgomery, IN 47558
Get Directions

  • Business: 
    (812) 444-5798
  • Business Fax: 
    (812) 444-5799
  • Staff Directory
  • Department Hours:
    Summer Hours 6:30 AM-5:00 PM (M-Th) Winter Hours 7:00 AM-3:30PM (M-F)

Highway Department


The Daviess County Highway Department is responsible for all roads, bridges and small structures (less than 20 foot span) within Daviess County which are not state highways and which are not within the corporate limits of a city or town. They are also responsible for bridges which have a span of 20 feet or greater on all roads which are not state highways.

Daviess County has ten townships with approximately 800 miles of roadway and rights of way. 126 bridges, 119 small structures and over 2,571 culverts to maintain.

The Daviess County Highway Department strives for safe and accessible roadways, and continue to work to improve the transportation infrastructure for the citizens of Daviess County.



If you have a concern for a road problem which is not within Daviess County's jurisdiction, you may contact the following agencies:

Town of Alfordsville: (812) 644-7567

Town of Cannelburg: (812) 486-3672

Town of Elnora: (812) 692-5415

Town of Montgomery: (812) 486-3298

Town of Odon: (812) 636-4321

Town of Plainville: (812) 687-7300

City Of Washington: (812) 254-4564

Indiana Department of Transportation - Vincennes District: (812) 895-7309