Contact Us

Scott Myers,
EMA Director

Daviess County Security Center (more)
101 NE 4th St
Washington, IN 47501
Get Directions

  • Phone: 
    (812) 254-5975
  • Staff Directory

Local Emergency Planning Committee

In the United States, federal, state, and local governments responded with laws to improve accident prevention and emergency response planning activities by chemical-handling facilities and local governments. These laws also increase public access to information ("Right-to-Know") about the storage and use of hazardous chemicals.

The Daviess County Local Emergency Planning Committee is a State entity created pursuant to SARA Title III (Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act), known as the "Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986" (EPCRA).

The legislative requirement of the Committee is to implement SARA Title III in Indiana, but the broader and more comprehensive purpose is to enhance public health, safety, and environmental protection in Daviess County.
The Mission of the Local Emergency Planning Committee is to:
  • Develop a comprehensive hazardous materials emergency response plan for our community. To be effective, planning must be an ongoing activity;
  • Collect, manage, and provide public access to information on hazardous chemicals in our area;
  • Educate the public about the risks from accidental and routine releases of chemicals and work with facilities to minimize the risks
For More Information Contact:
Jeremy Newberry
Local Emergency Planning Committee
200 Harned Ave. Washington, IN 47501
Phone: 812-254-8240